What is a Silver Beaver?





The Silver Beaver Award is a national award presented by Boy Scout Councils. It is the highest recognition a volunteer can be awarded at the council level. 

Annually, the council president will appoint a Silver Beaver Award committee that will consider candidates and make recommendations.   Nominations will not be considered for former professional Scouters or council employees within five years of their leaving employment with BSA (i.e., any form of full time employment such as secretary, ranger, or professional-technical position).   Nominations cannot be made for posthumous awards.   The award is limited to adults 21 years of age or older.

The requirements and procedures are as follows: This award may be made each year upon the nomination of chartered local councils. These nominations shall be submitted not fewer than thirty days in advance of the date upon which it is desired to present the awards. The award is made for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth by registered Scouters within the territory under the jurisdiction of a local office.

Below is a list of individuals who have been or are currently associated with Troop 21.  


Silver Beaver Award Recipient Year
George Metcalf 1936
Lawrence Painter 1969
Charles Narwold 1976
Roger Tornow 1979
Dan Gille 1997
Dennis Powell 2000
Steve Weber 2001
Jeff Molter 2005
Tom July 2010